Medical Alert Call Scams

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

450px-Modern_telephoneGRAND RAPIDS,Mich. — The Better Business Bureau is warning of a telemarketing scam reported by seniors in Southwest Michigan, and across the country.

In most cases seniors are receiving “robo-calls” from a company identifying itself as “Medical Alert Systems” or “Senior Medical Labs” offering a free medical alert system.  They claim everything is paid for including shipping and handling. Consumers are also told they have been recommended for the product by a friend or relative. After consumers press a button to accept the offer, they quickly receive another call asking for personal information including credit card numbers.

Consumers have reported several different options with these phone calls. In some instances the pre-recorded voice asks the consumer to press 1 to accept, in other cases to press 5. Consumers have also reported receiving calls from customer service representatives who give the same offer. No matter what option or explanation is offered, consumers are being advised to simply hang-up the telephone.  “Do not give out your personal information over the phone to an unknown party,” said Phil Catlett, President and CEO of BBB Serving Western Michigan.

The BBB advises you to be wary of anyone offering you something for “free” in exchange for your personal information. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.  Consumer and business scams should quickly be reported to BBB at 616-774-8236 or through its website.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s