6 new members inducted into the Grand Rapids Hall of Fame

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich -- The 2017 Grand Rapids Sports Hall of Fame was inducted on Tuesday night at Van Andel Arena.

This that went in were, Mike Franckowiak who quarterbacked Central Michigan to the 1974 National Championship and later played in the NFL. Kathy Grzegorski-Johnson who starred on the basketball court at West Catholic High School and Aquinas College. Carla Sterk-Fles who was a basketball standout at South Christian High School, CMU and later coached at Cornerstone. Bob Sakocius who won 9 Western Michigan Amateur golf tournament. Sullivan's baseball team which played for 45 years in Grand Rapids. Former Hope College football coach Ray Smith was given the Warren Reynolds Lifetime Achievement Award, he coached football at Hope for 25 years becoming the winningest coach in MIAA history.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s