AP Division 1-2 All-State Football Teams

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

By The Associated Press
The 2017 Division 1-2 Associated Press All-State football team, selected by a panel of 10 Michigan sports writers:
Kalon Gervin, Detroit Cass Tech, Sr.

David McCullum, Waterford Mott, Sr.
Bryce Veasley, West Bloomfield, Sr.

Sheldon Cage, Grosse Pointe North, Sr.
Jalen Jackson, Detroit King, Sr.
Steven Walker, Canton, Jr.
Cameron Ryan, Detroit Catholic Central, Sr.

Nick Cain, Pinckney, Sr.
Xavier Wade, Holland West Ottawa, Sr.
Justin Thomas, Walled Lake Western, Sr.
AJ Abott, West Bloomfield, Sr.
Julian Barnett, Belleville, Sr.

Stewart Newblatt, Clarkston, Sr.
Michael Fletcher, Flint Carman-Ainsworth, Jr.
Marquan McCall, Oak Park, Sr.
Spencer Brown, Walled Lake Western, Jr.
Devontae Dobbs, Belleville, Jr.
Dimitri Douglas, Saline, Sr.
Tyrone Sampson, Detroit East English, Sr.
Ryan Hayes, Traverse City West, Sr.

Marcel Lewis, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley, Jr.
Liam Cavanaugh, Holland West Ottawa, Sr.
D’Anthony Davis, Muskegon Mona Shores, Sr.
Lou Baechler, Canton, Sr.
DeAndre Square, Detroit Cass Tech, Sr.

Kalon Gervin, Detroit Cass Tech, Sr.
Marvin Grant, Detroit King, Sr.
Davion Williams, Belleville, Sr.

Walter Reynolds, U-D Jesuit, Sr.

Jake Moody, Northville, Sr.

Parker Blust, Lake Orion, Sr.

Chris Westfall, Ypsilanti Lincoln
SECOND TEAM ALL-STATE (nominees receiving two or more votes)
Josh Czarnota, Fenton

Running Back
Elijah Collins, U-D Jesuit; Tariq Reid, Davison

Wide Receiver
Ty Slazinski, West Bloomfield; Taj Mustapha, West Bloomfield;

Henry Janeway, Utica Eisenhower; Javon Foster, West Bloomfield; Andre Carter, Detroit Cass Tech; Alex Howie, Plymouth Salem; Eric Smith, Detroit Cass Tech

Aareon Broughton, Grand Blanc; Stephen Roncelli, Rochester Adams; Jonathan Moffett, Walled Lake Western

Tariq Hardy, Waterford Mott

Defensive Back
Alex Wasyl, Pinckney; Vincent Gray, Rochester Adams; Terry O’Connor, Traverse City Central

Rod Beaton, Pinckney; Ryan Oshnock, Holland West Ottawa
Max Wittwer, Utica Eisenhower; Cade Methner, Midland; Cam Thompson, Ypsilanti Lincoln; Luke Majick, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central; Paul Tocco, Macomb Dakota; Tommy Schuster, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley; Nolan Bird, Grand Ledge; Tristan Robbins, Muskegon Mona Shores; John Paddock, Bloomfield Hills; Cal Endicott, Flushing; Dwan Mathis, Oak Park; Sam Johnson, Walled Lake Western; Connor Engel, Canton; Dequan Finn, Detroit King; Tobin Schwannecke, Traverse City Central.

Running Back
Jaren Mangham, Detroit Cass Tech; Zhamaine March, Detroit East English; Derek Thompson; Ypsilanti Lincoln; Ramania Williams, Detroit Cass Tech; Martin Money, Midland; Gavin Gohr, Saginaw Heritage; Exzair Edwards, Jackson; Chaise Ford, Birmingham Grooves; Kentrell Ware, Grand Blanc; Kendall Williams, Farmington; Cashual Goldsmith, Oak Park; Erik LaBonte, Traverse City West; Jack Sherwin, Traverse City Central

Wide Receiver
Traveon Maddox, Novi; Jacob Badalamenti, Warren De La Salle; Nathan Goralski, Romeo; Cal Johnston, Grand Ledge; Mathew Torey, Birmingham Brother Rice; Chanse Setzke, Fenton; Matt Gilbert, Southfield A&T; Tariq Hardy, Waterford Mott; Patrick Bicknell, Waterford Mott; Matt Moorer, Ypsilanti Lincoln.

Cameron Wirtz, Battle Creek Lakeview; Vaughn Walker, Midland; Ethan Martin, Hartland; Cody Carone, Rockford; Dan VanOpstall, Jenison; Seth Hoonhorst, Hudsonville; Charlie Riddle, Birmingham Grooves; Isaiah Fleming, Jackson; Christian Zietvogel, Birmingham Grooves; Jack Sape, Bloomfield Hills; Trevor Edgar, Fenton; Alex Laverenz, Lakeland; Joe Natoci, Detroit Catholic Central; Justin Rogers, Oak Park; Cole Mitchell, Rochester Adams; Darrian Summerville, Southfield A&T; Tommy Larson, Walled Lake Northern; Joey George, Walled Lake Western; Bryce Locke, Waterford Mott; Javon Foster, West Bloomfield; Jalen Bell, Detroit King; Desjuan Johnson, Detroit East English; Bowen Brunner, Traverse City Central; Sawyer Perkette, Traverse City West; Brent Walters, Traverse City West.

Justin McMurren, Saginaw Heritage; Tommy Lappin, Hartland; Cauy Hendee, Pinckney; Jace Thornton, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central; Khale Showers, Rockford; Jacob Dobbs, Warren De La Salle; Brock Horne, Romeo; Leonard Henry, Grand Blanc; Sam Kinne, Lake Orion; CJ Davis, Lakeland; Lance Dixon, West Bloomfield; Isaac Darkangelo, Detroit Catholic Central; CJ Gildersleeve, Saline; Marvin Ham, Belleville

Defensive Back
MJ Griffin, Saline; Bryce Clay, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central; Josh DeBerry, Warren De La Salle; Khalil Dawsey, Birmingham Grooves; Jace Parrish, Grand Blanc; John Sage, Fenton; Jalen Robinson, Oak Park; Robert Daniel, Oak Park; Cole Patritto, Rochester Adams; Colton Baranowski, Waterford Mott; Nick Seidel, West Bloomfield; Xavier Goldsmith, Detroit Cass Tech; Jaeveyon Morton, Detroit King; Colin Troup Canton

Nick Sierocki, Midland Dow; Slay Shajrah, Dearborn Fordson; Jack Morris, Utica Eisenhower; Patrick Lupro, Belleville; Tate Hallock, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central

Dan Riser, Grand Rapids Forest Hills; Aidan Jennings, Walled Lake Western; Gabe Pickett, Traverse City Central

Michael Abitheira, Troy; Cam Shook, Grosse Pointe South

Eric Schugars, Traverse City Central; Tim Wooer, Traverse City West; Tony Pettrito, Rochester Adams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

1 Comment

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.