Everyone knows that drunk driving is a crime. But there’s more to the drunk driving laws in Michigan than that, and Grand Rapids car accident lawyer, Tom Sinas, explains more.
Drunk Driving Laws in Michigan – the Specifics
At the core, operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher is not permitted in the state of Michigan. This law is intended to keep fellow motorists and roadway users safe.
If you’re pulled over for drunk driving, the entire process from beginning to end usually costs up to $10,000. Drunk driving is obviously an expensive problem.
But that’s just the beginning. When someone is injured or killed as a result of you operating your vehicle under the influence of alcohol, it becomes a felony. A drunk driving accident resulting in injury comes with a five-year felony, whereas an accident causing death comes with up to a 15-year felony charge.
What is “Super Drunk?”
Have you heard the term “super drunk?” It’s actually a completely separate drunk driving law in Michigan. Super drunk means you have a blood alcohol level of .17 or more. This is obviously incredibly intoxicated resulting in very impaired driving abilities. As a result, penalties for being caught while driving super drunk are more extreme, such as increased jail time, lengthier driver’s license suspension, and heftier fines.
Implied Consent and Driving
According to the state of Michigan, if you’re driving a motor vehicle, you are implicitly permitting a police officer to conduct a breathalyzer test. If you refuse, your license becomes subject to an automatic ding of 6 points with the possibility of confiscation.
The takeaway, simply put, is don’t drink and drive. Always have a designated driver. Don’t risk injury to others and yourself.
For more information, visit sinasdramis.com.