Grand Rapids Symphony opens 90th season with Beethoven’s Violin Concerto

The 90th season of the Grand Rapids symphony opens on Friday and Saturday.

Music Director Marcelo Lehninger and guest violinist Augustin Hadelich came by the studio to talk about the first performances they'll have for the symphony's opening season.

The season will open with Hadelich playing Beethoven’s Violin Concerto. These concerts conclude with Brahms’ mighty Symphony No. 1, and begin with Samuel Barber’s brilliant overture to “The School for Scandal.”.

The performance will be on Friday and Saturday starting at 8 p.m.

Concert goers also have a chance to take part in a pre-concert conversation starting at 7 p.m. Seats are limited, so order tickets in advance.

Tickets are $18 for adults and $5 for students.

To order tickets, call (616)-454-9451 or go online to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.