Gov. Snyder Signs Minimum Wage Increase Legislation
LANSING, Mich. (May 27, 2014) — Gov. Rick Snyder Tuesday signed legislation raising Michigan’s minimum wage to $9.25 an hour by 2018, according to a press release.
Both the state House and Senate approved the legislation earlier today.
Starting in 2019, it will be tied to the rate of inflation, but the increase would be no more than 3.5 percent annually.
A raise in the tipped wage will also be tied to the same rate of inflation.
“I commend my partners in the Legislature for finding common ground on a bill that will help Michigan workers and protect our state’s growing economy,” Snyder said in a release.
The goal of the group was to raise the state’s minimum wage to $10.10 an hour. The ballot measure would have also raised the pay of tipped workers who currently earn $2.65 an hour.